Last season, the Kansas Jayhawks won their 14th straight Big 12 regular season title. It was not the smoothest ride for Bill Self’s team, as the Big 12 was very solid from top to bottom. The Big 12 featured some of college basketball’s biggest names in Trae Young, Devonte’ Graham, Jevon Carter, and Keenan Evans. This season, the Kansas Jayhawks will enter the season as the once again favorites to win a record setting 15th straight Big 12 title. The Jayhawks are led by familiar faces in senior guard Lagerald Vick and junior center Udoka Azubuike. KU also welcomes transfers Charlie Moore (California) and brothers Dedric and KJ Lawson (Memphis), along with another top 5 recruiting class.

The rest of the Big 12 will be very competitive as many teams will look to build upon successful season. Texas Tech will look to return to the second weekend in March Madness. They will also try and bounce back from losing star Keenan Evans. Chris Beard looks to replace Evans with South Dakota transfer Matt Mooney.

West Virginia is also in reloading mode as they look to make a run in 2019. Bob Huggins squad loses key leaders Jevon Carter and Daxter Miles, but retains Esa Ahamad, Beetle Bolden, and Sagaba Konate. Watch out for freshman guard Jordan McCabe.

As for the rest of the Big 12, there are many teams that have the capability to make a run and challenge the Jayhawks in 2018-19. All this will make for a very intriguing season.

Projected Standings (Regular Season)

  1. Kansas
  2. West Virginia
  3. Kansas State
  4. TCU
  5. Texas Tech
  6. Texas
  7. Baylor
  8. Iowa State
  9. Oklahoma State
  10. Oklahoma

Projected 1st Team

G: Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State

G: Barry Brown, Kansas State

G: Jaylen Fisher, TCU

F: Dedric Lawson, Kansas

F:Dean Wade, Kansas State

Projected 2nd Team

G: LaGerald Vick, Kansas

G: Quentin Grimes, Kansas

F:Dylan Osetkowski, Texas

F: Sagaba Konate, West Virginia

C: Udoka Azubuike, Kansas

Projected Player of Year

Dedric Lawson, Kansas

Projected Coach of Year

Bill Self, Kansas

Projected Freshman of Year

Quentin Grimes, Kansas